Sunday Recap 2.8.2009

Setlist:

1.  Glorious One (Steve Fee) – It’s been awhile since we have done this one, great song!  It went well, just a bit too high for me. 

2.  Hosanna (Paul Baloche) – Tyler (Vocalist) sings the 1st verse as a solo and for some reason he didn’t start on the right beat of the song.  It was like he was singing on the upbeat, so the first part of the song was a bit weird, but it worked out well.  Great job Tyler!

3.  For Who You Are (Hillsong) – Again, been awhile since we have done this one.  Very good song for the people to sing along with. 

4.  Revelation Song (Jennie Riddle) – This was suppose to be our 4th song, but we didn’t sing it.  Here’s why:  1.)  My mic was cutting in and out because the battery wasn’t connected good. 2.) I didn’t want to prolong the service because we had another song to sing. 3.) God said don’t do it, enough said!

It felt weird during servie this week.  Emma described it last night @ practice like we were in a bubble, people could see us but couldn’t hear us.  It was just weird, I can’t really explain it.  I have been trying hard to make sure we pick songs that people can connect with and sing along with, but I don’t think it worked this week.  Have I mentioned, it just felt weird???

How was your Sunday?

Go check out more setlists @ Fred’s blog.

2 responses to “Sunday Recap 2.8.2009

  1. You said “I have been trying hard to make sure we pick songs that people can connect with and sing along with, but I don’t think it worked this week.” Don’t be to hard on yourself about this, I really doubt it had anything to do with song selections. It is really strange how some weeks feel that way like the congregation is disconnected from worship, and there really isn’t a good explaination why. Then you can come in the very next week do nothing different and everyone is connected. I haven’t figured out why this happens. Maybe weather, vacations, lack of sleep lol who knows? If anyone has the answer on this please let me in on it.

    Great set!

    I’m glad that you were obedient about dropping the last song even though “Revelation Song” is one of my favorites. It’s always best to obey when we feel prompted to do something like that.

  2. Brandon – I can totally relate to what you are talking about, and I think people were probably very impacted even if they did not respond as well. As a fellow worship leader, I’m always disappointed when we put in the work, practice, prayer, etc. and then people don’t “show up”, so to speak. It is those moments that test my faith in God in this way – He really sees the true hearts of people and it is up to Him to draw them to Himself.

    I agree with Steff – your setlist looks great!

Leave a Reply

